FishPal Malloch Trophy

Can I start this week with some breaking news. I am absolutely delighted to announce that FishPal are to be the new sponsor of this year’s Malloch Trophy taking over the reins from Savills. 

There are few trophies or prizes that anglers dream of more than to perhaps one day be the winners of the        Malloch Trophy award fro the largest salmon caught in Scottish rivers on the fly and safely returned.

To have the honour of sponsoring such a prestigious award is something that I am extremely proud of. One of my personal quests is to have FishPal proactively giving as much back to the salmon fishing industry as we can. This might take the form of hosting introductory days to salmon fishing, helping young anglers into the sport or sponsoring events. To be able to sponsor the FishPal Malloch Trophy is another great way of us trying to help bring to the salmon world all the news and catches of prize specimen salmon that we anglers just love to hear about.

Our site pages and details of what we want to add to this years competition will be available this week for everybody to see and there will of course be a new entry form for you to use which I hope you are lucky enough to be able to complete having caught a 20lb+ salmon! This week has seen a number of just such fish so I do hope everyone who has been lucky enough to catch a 20lber will enter as I want to also look at extra competition prizes which might not just be for the biggest fish caught.

The Malloch Trophy is owned by the Tay Foundation and I look forward to working closely with them through the term of our sponsorship.

Last weeks catches were similar to previous weeks with the fish of the week being the cracker from Hendersyde. A 33lb beauty that was the envy of us all. Congratulations to Mr Longstaff, the lucky angler who with the expert help of “Ketch” will be dining out on the capture for many a year!

I managed a cast myself last week in amongst some meetings on Tayside on the lovely Dunkeld House Hotel water where I was lucky enough to have caught my first fish of the year back in January. In short sleeves and perfect fishing conditions my hopes were high. Fish were seen throughout the beat and I felt sure that I was only ever a cast away from hooking into something. My luck was not in `I’m afraid and whilst I did have one good long pull in the early evening, no fish were caught.

Great to meet some really nice fellow anglers and thanks to the expert guidance from Simon, everyone thoroughly enjoyed there day.

This weekend also saw the very popular Sportfish Weekend Show taking place  which we were represented at. Some really talented anglers on show and great crowds attending. Thanks to everyone who came up and said hello at our stand, much appreciated! Photographs taken during the show

And so to this week. Tom is back from his highland adventure so you can once again call him if you need any help on where to fish or if you need help on perhaps where to stay – or both! I haven’t heard how the fishing went but I am sure I will hear all about it first thing Monday!

Looking forward to my trip north this week to catch up with some great people on Deeside. I know the Dee is getting some fairly harsh criticism in recent times and everyone seems to be getting quite concerned. There seems no  rhyme nor reason with some saying its the water temperature being still too cold with snow melt and various other theories.

I for one believe that the river will kick on as we move through summer and the runs of fish we so desperately are looking for will arrive. I remember a conversation with a good fishing friend of mine who said, “salmon are migratory fish and they will run the rivers of their birth when they are ready, not when fisherman expect them too!” And of course he is right, so I will hold on to my optimistic view of the Dee and we will see what happens. Current conditions would certainly not deter me from booking some fishing on the Dee, such a beautiful river to be lucky enough to have the pleasure of fishing.

Tight lines for the week ahead everyone, don’t forget to send in those photos of you carefully returning your prized catch, we all want to see them!

Mark

 

Leave a Reply

